Tag: 上海419龙凤SO

Updated European Commission to appoint seven to new highlevel science advice panel

first_imgPutting an end to months of suspense, the European Commission today unveiled a broad plan for a new science advice system at a meeting in Brussels. As a key part of the system, the commission plans to appoint a seven-member, high-level panel of scientists to advise its policymakers. It also will create structures to better draw on the expertise of Europe’s national academies and learned societies, ScienceInsider has learned.”After six months in limbo, it’s welcome news that the commission [is announcing] its plans for the future of scientific advice,” wrote James Wilsdon, a science policy specialist at the University of Sussex in the United Kingdom, in an e-mail. “A high level group, properly resourced, with links to national academies and learned societies could work well.”Today’s announcement marks a major turn after a period of uncertainty that began this past November, when new European Commission President Jean-Claude Juncker effectively ended the 3-year-old post of chief scientific adviser (CSA). Juncker did not renew the mandate of Anne Glover, the commission’s first CSA, drawing fierce protests from many researchers—particularly in the United Kingdom. Some saw the move as a sign of Juncker’s disregard for science. Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country Emailcenter_img Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) Others, however, welcomed the opportunity to remake the commission’s science advice system and the CSA role, which critics said lacked transparency and was vulnerable to corporate influence.Juncker promised he would find a way to obtain science advice on policy issues, but the commission stayed mostly mum as research commissioner Carlos Moedas developed a proposal for a new system. It aims to draw on existing structures—such as nation-based academies of prominent scientists, and existing advisory bodies—to provide timely, independent advice across all policy areas.Today, Juncker endorsed Moedas’s plan at the Brussels meeting, which included high-profile scientists, including several Nobel Prize winners and Paul Nurse, president of the United Kingdom’s Royal Society.Moedas gave more details about what he calls the Scientific Advice Mechanism, or SAM, after the meeting. The group will be made up of seven “top level” scientists, whom he insisted will not be employed by the commission—contrary to the former CSA. The advisory panel’s members will be recruited by a three-strong “identification committee,” through a process modeled after the European Research Council’s search for scientific council members. Moedas described his own role as that of a “facilitator” between the commissioners who need advice and the future high-level panel.In house, 20 to 25 people will be assigned to the SAM in the commission’s research directorate. In addition, “up to €6 million” could be made available to “organize the supply” of science advice from national academies, Moedas told reporters, adding that this figure still needs to be confirmed. Many details remain to be fleshed out, however. The commission has yet to announce how the advisory group’s work will be linked to the commission’s in-house science service, the Joint Research Centre, and how the new group will differ from the advisory body set up in 2013 to advise Juncker’s predecessor, José Manuel Barroso.“[M]y understanding is that the previous [group] met quite infrequently and had a pretty hands-off advisory role, whereas this new group would be … smaller, more focused, more engaged,” writes Wilsdon, who recently co-edited a collection of essays called Future Directions for Scientific Advice in Europe.The commission aims to have the new system up and running by fall.*Update, 13 May, 10:44 a.m.: This item has been upated to include details on the new panel’s makeup and role.last_img read more